About Tasks

The optional Tasks feature allows you to set up discrete actions and/or a consistent workflow required for the resolution of an issue. Tasks may be added individually or with a Task Group during the submission of an issue or at any time in the issue life cycle. Tasks and Task Groups may also be added automatically by the use of a Quick Pick or Recurring Issue, or Task Groups may be added automatically as part of a defined workflow.


Permissions

Tasks can only be assigned by users or groups with Can assign Tasks permissions and only assigned to users or groups with Can be assigned Tasks permissions. Regardless of the Task Assigned To value in an issue, all tasks must be completed, canceled, or removed before an issue can be closed.

Only users with Can view Tasks on issues permissions will be able to view Tasks within an issue or email notification. In addition, only these users will receive email notifications related to Task events. This allows you to apply a workflow to an issue without bothering the user with the details of the workflow. Only users with Can edit Tasks are able to modify the name, dependency or process options of a task on an issue.

Additionally, users need to have "Can select substatus when submitting and maintaining issues" permission in order to change the Update Substatus To dropdowns within issue-related tasks.  Without this permission, the Update Status To dropdown will be grayed out. 


Restrictions

Tasks and Task Groups may also be ‘Restricted’ to particular groups and/or organizations. Only members of these select groups and/or organizations will be able to view restricted tasks and/or task groups.


Workflow

When a user is assigned a task, they'll receive an email notification. According to the Task Type assigned, the Task can be marked “complete” by clicking task complete or can be approved or disapproved by clicking yes or no.  You may also configure the system so that a popup window is generated during the completion of a Task. In this scenario, the user completing the Task will be prompted to enter Labor Hours and Labor Notes related to the completion of the Task. Regardless, the system will always record who completed the Task as well as the date and time it was completed.

In a  yes/no scenario among Task Groups, several options are available to support process management workflows related to each response. All subsequent tasks may be canceled depending on the selection of yes, no, or NA, depending on the workflow you defined within the Task Group. You may also choose to add another Task Group, modify the issue substatus, and/or close the issue when a task response is received. All process management options are available for each completion option (yes, no, NA).

Dependencies may also be established among Tasks, e.g. Task 3 cannot be completed until Tasks 1 and 2 have been completed. If dependencies have been engaged, the links to complete subsequent Tasks will not appear until the preceding Task has been completed and the dependent task is available for completion. If you have email notifications set to only send when the Task is available, the email will not go out until that task is ready to be completed.



 

Activating Tasks

When activating tasks, you have several additional options available. Only users with the Sys Admin parameter can activate Tasks and their additional options.

Steps:

  1. Go to Administration > System > System Settings > Optional Fields.
  2. Click the checkbox next to Tasks and any relevant task options:
    1. Activate Secure Task Completion: If checked, clicking the link to complete a task will require the current user to enter their password. If the proper password is supplied, the task is completed. If the proper password is not supplied after a set number of attempts, the user is logged out of the system. This option will not be available if Issue Lockdown is activated since Issue Lockdown includes this feature. This is not normally a recommended setting.
    2. Task Completed By Assignee Only: If checked, tasks can only be completed by the user they are assigned to, a member of the group they are assigned to, or the Sys Admin.
    3. Activate Popup Time Entry: If checked, completion of any Task will generate a popup window for the entering of Labor Hours and associated Labor Notes.
  3. Click Update. 

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete and tasks will appear as an option in the Administration Menu.


 

Managing Tasks

Tasks may be pre-defined from the Administration > Tasks menu. Default Task values have been created to help get you started. Feel free to build on these default values or delete them and create your own. When building workflow processes or creating task groups, you can choose from these pre-defined tasks or type description at that time.

When using the Report Writer, bear in mind that reporting on tasks looks at two values – Task: Pre-Defined and Task: User Defined, so adding tasks to the dropdown to use in issues and workflows will report in a separate field than any task entered directly into the Task Manager.

Only users with Sys Admin or Can access and maintain Administration functions permissions can add, edit or delete Tasks within your system.

Users may add Tasks with unique descriptions in the Task Manager during the course of working on an issue. These tasks will not appear in the pre-defined Task List.


Adding Tasks

Steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All > Add.
  2. Select a Task Type (Select Complete as the Task Type if this Task only requires the user to mark it Complete. Select Yes/No/NA as the Task Type if this Task requires the user to respond with either Yes, No or N/A.)
  3. Enter a Task Name.
  4. Enter a Display Order value if the Task should appear in a particular order in the Task drop-down in the Task Manager.
  5. Click Save.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.


Editing Tasks

Steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All.
  2. Click edit next to the appropriate task from the Task List displayed.
  3. Edit the appropriate field value(s), including type, name, display order, active/inactive, and Group or Organization restrictions.
  4. Click Update.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.


Deleting Tasks

It is strongly recommended that Tasks be “Deactivated” rather than Deleted to maintain the integrity of data in your system. Tasks can be deactivated from the Edit Task screen.

Steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All.
  2. Click del next to the appropriate task from the Task List displayed.
  3. Click OK when prompted, "Are you sure you want to delete this Task?"

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.